Pride and Prejudice: Rave and Review

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife”

Author: Jane Austen  Pride-and-Prejudice_BN

Genre: Novel of manners, satire

Publisher: T. Egerton, Whitehall

Publication date : 28 January 1813

Goodreads rating:  

My rating: 


Ok so I know I am not the only person on this planet that has fallen head over heels with Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, BUT THIS BOOK!
I can genuinely say that no other book I have ever read has made me smile and laugh the way I doI this book. If you’ve never read it….the synopsis is below.

Synopsis:

The novel centres on Elizabeth Bennet, the second of the five daughters of a landed country gentleman. Elizabeth’s father, Mr. Bennet, is a bookish man and somewhat neglectful of his responsibilities. In contrast Elizabeth’s mother, Mrs. Bennet, a woman who lacks social graces, is primarily concerned with finding suitable husbands for her five daughters, who will inherit little or nothing from their father due to primogeniture laws. Jane Bennet, the eldest daughter, is distinguished by her kindness and beauty; Elizabeth Bennet shares her father’s keen wit and occasionally sarcastic outlook; Mary is studious, devout and musical albeit lacking in taste; Catherine, sometimes called Kitty, the fourth sister, follows where her younger sister leads while Lydia is flirtatious and lacks maturity.

 

Review:

The fact of the matter is that this book is a masterpiece, it deserves all the love and attention that people tell you to give it. When I first read this book it was genuinely just to say that I had read a classic other than Romeo and Juliette, I had no idea that it would become one of my all time favourite books.

I will be honest and say the very first time I read this book, I found it very difficult to fully understand the language and all the concepts portrayed by Jane Austen. It was the second time I read it, quite a few years later, that i fully fell in love with the setting, characters and writing style.

This book centres on the Bennett family and all their family trials and triumphs, most of which even though set in the 1800s, are still in some way relevant to todays readers. Elizabeth Bennett is the narrator and the character in which we (or well i did) relate to the most. I don’t know how Jane Austen made her writing so witty and modern for her time, but what I do know is that, through Elizabeths eyes and thoughts, Jane was able to make me laugh more than I have at any other book I’ve ever read.

pride-and-prejudice-1995-wedding-scene-jennifer-ehle-and-colin-firth-x-450

AND MR DARCY, don’t even get me started on Mr Darcy, Ive never been more infuriated by a man in my entire life, yet at the end I’m in love with him. Darcy is my ultimate book crush now and I find myself dreaming for someone like him for myself; Darcy is Lizzy Bennett’s love intrest in Pride and Prejudice and they go though what esentially is, all the trials that are faced in most relationships.

As this is a non spoiler review i am going to finish here and say

I LOVE this book, I genuinely adore it and I hope if any of you ever feel the need to read a classic that you seriously consider picking this up.

Happy reading loves, Lish x

p.p.s check out the 1995 bbc mini series!

16 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice: Rave and Review

Leave a Reply

