July Wrap-Up and August TBR

So July was actually quite a good reading month for me, I always try to read as much as I can but yano, life gets in the way. I read 3 novels, a graphic novel and a short story this month and the overall monthly reading experience was really good! So lets get into the wrap up:

Wrap-up:

The first book I read this month was The Painted Man by Peter V Brett and i’ve you have already seen my review you will know i adored this book, like I LOVED it. So instead of going into full detail here I will link my full review below, just know that I HIGHLY recommend this book.

Rating: 5 stars

https://alishaswords.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/the-painted-man-rave-and-review/


The second book I read this month was a graphic novel, and this was my first ever experience reading a graphic novel and I really enjoyed it.My only problem was that I felt like I didnt give the artwork enough attention because I was too busy reading the story. I also have a review for this up on the blog and ill leave the link down below.

Rating: 3 stars

https://alishaswords.wordpress.com/2016/07/19/first-experience-with-a-graphic-novel/


The third book I read this month was a reread and it was my most favorite book of 2015 and that was Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas. Now if you know me you know that the Throne of Glass series is close to my heart and i adore everything about it. This book did not let me down, the character development and world building in this installment just made me fall more and more in love with the series.


And in conjunction with this…
The fourth book I read this month was the 4th installment in the Throne of Glass series, Queen Of Shadows. I hadn’t read this when it came out because I wanted to wait until closer to the release date of the 5th and final book in September. So far this is my favorite book of 2016 but with Empire of Storms coming in a month I cant say that is this my all time favorite of the year. This book made me cry, and not silent tears running down your face crying, I mean ugly crying HOWEVER I was also happy crying and laughing as the book came to a close, it was amazing.

Heir of Fire rating: 5 stars

Queen of Shadows rating: 5 stars


And the last book I read this month was actually Jane Austen’s Short story ‘Love and Friendship’, i’ve recently decided that because I am such a fan of Pride and Prejudice, I would like to slowly work my way through all of her works. This short story was…OK, i love Jane Austen’s writing style but it just kind of bored me a little. P.s I read this on my phone so I’ve no image…I’m sorry!

Rating: 2 stars

August TBR:

 

Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

The Bromeliad by Terry Pratchett

Moristoun by Kevin McAllion

 

 

 

Well I hope you enjoyed this post everyone,

What are you planning on reading this month??

Happy Reading

Lish x

 

 

Links:

http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Red-Virgin-and-the-Vision-of-Utopi-Bryan-Talbot-Mary-Talbot/9780224102346?ref=grid-view

http://www.bookdepository.com/Heir-of-Fire–No–3/9781408839126

http://www.bookdepository.com/Queen-of-Shadows-Sarah-J-Maas/9781408858615?ref=grid-view

(Header image credit to https://darcysbookblog.com )

 

7 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up and August TBR

  1. Hope you will give Jane Austen a new chance. Because she’s worth it. But to tell the truth, her juvenilia stories are just her step into the writing. Maybe you will like Emma. Pride and Prejudice was a masterpiece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed your monthly wrap up. I really like the organization of separate reviews too. I’ve been reading graphic novels for a while now and sometimes still struggle not to prioritize text over images. The artists involved make a big difference. I’m sure you’ll find some you love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All your July books this month are amazing! Sarah J Maas writes the best badass female protagonists and I’m DYING for book 5 to come out on the 6th!! You’re gonna love the Court of Mist and Fire series and I feel obliged to add The Painted Man to my tbr list :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

