Moristoun by Kevin McAllion: Rave and review 

Moristoun: Kevin McAllion

Paperback: 368 pages

Publisher: Austin Macauley Publishers (March 31, 2016)

Language: English

Goodreads rating: 4 stars

My rating: 3.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

McSorely has had enough. His life has spiraled out of control and nothing has gone his way. There seems to be only one option open to him, one last thing he can do to take control of his fate. All hope is lost.  But far away on the mysterious island of Moristoun, Buchan is charged with the task of dissuading McSorely from this drastic course of action. Moristoun is where people like McSorely might end up, having exchanged one kind of hopelessness for another. A glimpse of the ‘life’ he might be heading for might change McSorely’s opinion of his own existence, but a glimpse of the entrancing Gail behind the bar in the pub and a hint about Moristoun’s true nature could render all of Buchan’s efforts to rehabilitate the despairing McSorely equally hopeless.

vj0iGPGK

Review:

So when I first began reading this book, I’m not going to lie I was pretty confused, I couldn’t work out if it was some sort of alternative reality or a form of magical realism. I would say this confusion lasted into the first 50 pages but it by no means stopped me carrying on reading.  The entire concept of this book is very very interesting and unlike anything I’ve ever read before. As I got further and further into the book I became attached to the characters and the ending of the novel was just lovely and heartwarming (there is quite a little plot twist to).

In regards to the writing, I found it very difficult in the beginning to get invested and this was because I think the author uses a lot of unnecessary complex words and is extremely  descriptive. This was genuinely the only problem I had with the novel and it did not stop me enjoying it, the further I got through the book the more I became used to the writing style so it was grand.

All in all as this is a non-spoiler review all I have to say is that I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, it surprised me and was very different from anything I’ve ever read so I HIGHLY a recommend giving this book a shot!

And thank you very much to Kevin for sending me his book because I really enjoyed it! I got so attached to Buchan and Gail!

you can find Kevin in the links below:

https://twitter.com/moristoun

Give this one a go guys!

Happy reading,

Lish x

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, all thought and opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Moristoun by Kevin McAllion: Rave and review 

Leave a Reply

