Top 5 Wednesday: Fave First Sentences

I love this weeks topic. The very first line of a book is so so so important because it is what spurs you on to keep reading. I hope you like a few of my choices!

As always:

Top 5 Wednesday is a tag and challenge group hosted and created by Lainey over at Ginger Reads Lainey on youtube and Sam from Thoughsontomes on youtube (Below is the link to Laineys youtube channel and the official Goodreads group)

https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey

https://www.youtube.com/user/ThoughtsOnTomes

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

     < Lainey

maxresdefault    < Sam

This weeks topic is:

Favorite First sentences:

1. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

“I’d never given much though to how i would die”

I have a special place in my heart for Twilight and I always will because it is the book that got me back into reading. I love this opening line because it just captivated you, and as a big fan of Twilight I think it was the perfect way to start of the saga!

 

 

 

2. If I Stay by Gayle Forman


“Everyone thinks it was because of the snow.”

You can just tell this story will make you cry by that line. I loved this book and I love this opening line because of the natural imagery it gives, I think it shows that this book is going to be emotional but beautiful…which it certainly is!

 

 

 

 

 

3. Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

“Gods, it was boiling in this useless excuse for a kingdom”

This was (until I read Queen of Shadows) my favorite book in the Throne of Glass series and as a fan I think this opening line shows Celaena’s personality and I love it! I actually laughed out loud when I read it!

 

 

 

4. The Book Theif by Markus Zusak

“First the colours. Then the humans. That’s how I usually see things. Or at least, how I try”

This book is my ALL time favorite book and it is one of the most beautifully written and powerfully put together books I’ve ever read. And I just love how it begins!

 

 

 

 

 

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife”

Now I am sure this book will make its way on to a lot of Top 5 Wednesdays this week because this opening line is one of the most iconic in literature! Its so sarcastic!

So that’s this week Top 5 Wednesday! What’s your favorite first line??? 

Happy Reading! 

Lish x 

Come say Hi on social media if you want! 

Twitter – @Lishwells19

Tumblr- @Alishas-words-of-wonder 

Instagram – @Alishas_words 

Bloglovin – https://www.bloglovin.com/@alishalaurenwells&nbsp;

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Fave First Sentences

  1. ‘It was the day my grandmother exploded. I sat in the crematorium, listening to my Uncle Hamish quietly snoring in harmony to Bach’s Mass in B Minor, and I reflected that it always seemed to be death that drew me back to Gallanach.’ (I know I’m cheating by quoting the first two lines, but this is probably my favourite start to a book ever – it’s The Crow Road by Iain Banks.)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that human affairs were being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s and yet as mortal as his own; that as men busied themselves about their affairs they were scrutinized and studied, perhaps almost as narrowly as a man with a microscope might scrutinize the transient creatures that swarm and multiply in a drop of water.”

    H.G. Wells, War of the Worlds. For me, that’s a hook, but I admit to abnormality.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love The Book Thief. It’s in my top 5 favourite books of all time and that opening line is really perfect. Here’s a few of my favourites:

    “I am seated in an office, surrounded by heads and bodies.” -Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, a strange sentence for a strange story.

    “Maman died today.” The Stranger by Albert Camus, brief and minimal. Perfectly sets the tone of the story to come.

    “Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.” The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, making the human race seem pretty small and insignificant is Adam’s specialty in his galactic sized post-modernist sci-fi comedy adventure.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

