The Cursed Child: Rave and Review

OK so I wasn’t even going to do a review on this, considering all the controversy about it…which can I just say, IS DOING MY HEAD IN, but i’ll get into that in the main review.

The Cursed Child by J K Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany.

Originally published: July 31, 2016
Setting: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter
Preceded by: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Playwrights: J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany

Genre: Fantasy, Drama and Adventure

Goodreads rating: 4 stars

My rating:4 stars

 

 

Play Synopsis:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a two-part West End stage play written by Jack Thorne based on an original new story by Thorne, J.K. Rowling and John Tiffany.

The rehearsal script, not a novelisation of the play, was released on 31 July 2016 and became the eighth story set in the Harry Potter universe. The story is set nineteen years after the events of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and follows Harry Potter, now a Ministry of Magic employee, and his younger son Albus Severus Potter.

“It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places”

(pssst can we just discuss how it clearly says NOT A NOVELISATION!)

Review:

Right I am 90% sure that you can already tell I am quite annoyed at the reaction this script has gotten across all forms of social media and especially within the book community. Now do not get me wrong, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I fully accept that; However, that does not explain why people are slighting and getting angry at J K Rowling for releasing this script and not a book.

SHE NEVER SAID IT WAS A BOOK! IT WAS ALWAYS A PLAY AND THE WHOLE WORLD KNEW IT!

So my personal experience with this script was really quite enjoyable and heart warming, it was nice to go back into the magic that is Harry Potter and meet characters that I only really ever had my imagination to see what they were like.

In terms of the plot line, I thought it was great! Taking into consideration that it is a play, it needed to be fast-paced and action packed to draw in and keep the audiences attention, and with that in mind, I thought it was perfect as far as how I think a play of Harry Potter should be.

(SPOILER ALERT)

The whole “Albus wanting to correct Harry’s mistakes”, I thought was brilliant. Bringing in a sense of reality about the pressure kids face to please and live up to their parents name…obviously this is fiction but you know what I mean. The use of the time turners and the alternate realities based on changes in time were so good and believable! The one of Hermione being similar to Snape made me cry laughing, I thought that was “bloody brilliant”.

I loved Albus and Scorpio’s relationship, the sheer hilarity and and childish actions that got them into the situations they were in, were in my mind completely blown out of the water by the sense of loyalty between the pair. If there is one thing J K Rowling can do well,  it’s express really beautiful and realistic friendships, we fell in love with Harry, Ron and Hermione back in the day and now I’ve fallen in love with Albus and Scorpio.

And of course the golden trio, is it really sappy to say that it was like being with old friends again? They just haven’t changed and even as adults they still have the characteristics that we all fell in love with in the beginning.

 

These are only some of my thoughts on the script book but basically I loved it, it was so nice to just sit with a cup of tea and read about Hogwarts in a way I haven’t before and I now want to reread the entire series.

This review is a little different from my usual so I hope use like it!

Sidenote: It was results day in the UK yesterday, were any of you waiting on results? I got onto my dream university course! So ill be starting my degree in Speech and Language therapy in late September and IM SO EXCITED!

I hope you have all had a lovely day!

Happy reading.

Lish x

Come say Hi on social media if you want! 

Twitter – @Lishwells19

Tumblr- @Alishas-words-of-wonder 

Instagram – @Alishas_words 

Bloglovin – https://www.bloglovin.com/@alishalaurenwells

12 thoughts on “The Cursed Child: Rave and Review

  1. I agree with you–I loved it. Honestly, I liked the play form. It made for a fast-paced read! I have a few nitpicks, of course, but the new kids are a joy and it was a sheer pleasure to see Harry, Ron, Hermione and (of course) Draco back in action. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Alisha. Found your blog from a spot you liked of mine and OHMY I love it so much! 😍 I really enjoyed these posts and reviews and just started following you. It would mean a lot if you could follow me back because i’m pretty new and hope to write more book reviews and posts too. I love reading, goodreads and book tubers a whole lot too πŸ™‚ Hope you can pop by and we can chat sometimes online πŸ™‚ ❀ https://bookishbandsnerd.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

