August Wrap-Up and September TBR

This month was EXTREMELY busy for me and I mean busy. I had my A-Level results day, I got accepted into University and I am just back from a week long trip to Norway, so not a lot of reading has been done on my part.

However I did manage to read 2 books, a play and a graphic novel:

So lets get into the wrap-up

Moristoun by Kevin McAllionimg_0724

Rating: 4 stars

Ok so if you have ever been to my blog then you’ll probably have heard me talk about this book and therefore I am going to leave the link to my full length review below. But know this…I very very very much enjoyed this book and I was so pleasantly surprised that I already want to read this book again.

Moristoun by Kevin McAllion: Rave and review 

 

 

Rat Queens Vol.1 : Sass and SorceryImage result for rat queens vol 1

By Kurtis J. Wiebe

Rating: 4 stars

I am quite new when it comes to reading graphic novels, in fact this is only the second Graphic Novel I’ve ever read so my way of reviewing them probably isnt great.

So here goes, I enjoyed this in a way I find hard to describe; as its a graphic novel you arent going to get an amazing plot line and vast character development in the very first volume, but without taking that into consideration it was very very entertaining. I loved the art work in this graphic novel, its very colorful and that adds to the action and dramatization of the story line.

 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Childimg_0815

By J.K Rowling

Rating: 4 stars

I have a LOT of thoughts and opinions on this book/ play and it would probably take me all day to get them all out here on this wrap-up, so just like I’ve dine before I am going to link my full review of this book down below so that those of you that are interested can have a look.

I am a big Harry Potter fan and I enjoyed this for what it was and I recommend for all those who want to jump back to Hogwarts one more time.
The Cursed Child: Rave and Review

 

A Perilous Question

By Barry Finlay

Rating: 4 starsImage result for a perilous question

I very much enjoyed this book, it is a suspenseful and engrossing read and I am so pleasantly surprised with it.
I’ve only recently gotten into thrillers / crime novels and I genuinely think people who have a soft spot for this genre will LOVE this novel.
The entire plot line is so intriguing and captivating that I just could not put it down.
The constant plot twists and turns just kept me on my toes and I fell in love with Marcie Kane and Nathan Harris.
The ending was just lovely and I already want to read everything else involving Marcie and Nathan.
I highly highly recommend!

 

So they are all the books and books alike that I have read this month. Even though I will be starting university this month I do hope to keep up my 4-5 books a month reading goal. Lets have a look:

September TBR:

1. Slade House by David Mitchell

2. The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

3. The Desert Spear by Peter V Brett (ebook)

4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (Reread)

5. Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (pre-order which hasn’t arrived yet)

So every one that is my August wrap-up and Septemeber TBR!

What are your reading plans for this month?? Anything good? Give me some recommendations!

I recently hit 500 followers on the blog and to celebrate I am hosting my very first giveaway, so if your interest click on the link below!

500 followers and Giveaway!

Happy Reading,

Lish x

 

9 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up and September TBR

  1. Excellent list. It’s funny, my dad is getting into comics too and he lent me a copy of the rat queen. I’ll have to give it a go. Maybe on the plane… because I’m coming to England for school this year! I just got my visa approval letter yesterday. 😂 I’m finishing up all the pretty horses by Cormic McCarthy (my second time around, so good) and I’m debating on starting Infinite Jest again. It was just so big (1000+ pages and over 30 pages in footnotes) the first pass, I feel like I didn’t entirely appreciate it but really really enjoyed it the first round even if some parts make my teeth feel like they’re peeling. 😓

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a love hate relationship with books like that, you enjoy it and hate it and the same time but you can’t stop reading. Then because of that fact you feel as if you don’t fully get every concept of the book!
      That’s so cool that your going to England! I hope you enjoy it!
      And thank you so much, I’m really excited about starting!
      Lish X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

