January Book Haul! 📚 

Hello everyone!

How is there only one week of January left already! We are close to the second month of 2017! January has been very good to me so far so I’m hopeful of the year to come, I’ve so many amazing things planned for this year! How are you all?

I have done my fair share of book shopping this month and as ashamed as I am I do not regret anything….yet. So this month…..(Dramatic drum roll)… I’ve purchased 10 books!


So as I’ve purchased quite a few this month, I am only going to give a brief description of each and any I’ve already read will have a rating…lets get into it!

Famous Five: On Brexit Island – Enid Blyton

It is the night of the referendum and the Five have retired to Kirrin Island to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine, fed up with the rancour of public debate. George is firmly a ‘remainer,’ whilst Julian, who is in the ‘Brexit’ camp, is tolerated on the grounds that Anne cannot bear to go camping without him. (Timmy, largely apolitical but not keen on cats or rabbits, joins them too.)

My Rating: 3 stars

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops – Jen Campbell

‘Can books conduct electricity?’ ‘My children are just climbing your bookshelves: that’s ok… isn’t it?’ A John Cleese Twitter question [‘What is your pet peeve?’], first sparked the “Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops” blog, which grew over three years into one bookseller’s collection of ridiculous conversations on the shop floor. From ‘Did Beatrix Potter ever write a book about dinosaurs?’ to the hunt for a paperback which could forecast the next year’s weather; and from ‘I’ve forgotten my glasses, please read me the first chapter’ to’Excuse me… is this book edible?’ This full-length collection illustrated by the Brothers McLeod also includes top ‘Weird Things’ from bookshops around the world.

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Link to Jen’s youtube (https://www.youtube.com/user/jenvcampbell)

 

Falling Awake – Alice Oswald Falling Awake - Paperback - 9781910702437 - Alice Oswald

Winner of the Costa Poetry Award 2016, Falling Awake is the latest anthology from Alice Oswald – a poet who was won every major British poetry prize, including the T.S. Eliot Award.
Vivid and distinct and heavily engaged in the natural world, the poems touch on themes including life’s losing struggle and what it means to be alive. The poems are fresh and fluid but also fragmentary and full of repetition.
They’re ideal for reading out aloud.

My Rating: 4 stars

 

 

The Young Elites Trilogy – Marie Lu Related image

(P.s I bought all 3 books so Im not putting the synopsis’s of the following two as I dont want to spoil myself!!!)

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

 

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold

My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973. My murderer was a man from our neighborhood. My mother liked his border flowers, and my father talked to him once about fertilizer. 

 

 

 

 

 

Another Day in the Death of America – Gary Younge

Saturday, November 23rd, 2013. It was just another day in America; an unremarkable Saturday on which ten children and teens were killed by gunfire. The youngest was nine; the oldest was nineteen. White, Black and Latino, they fell in suburbs, hamlets and ghettos. None made the national news. There was no outrage about their passing. It was just another day in the death of America, where on a daily average – seven children and teens are killed by guns.

(Look at that COVER!)

 

 

Resolution – A. N Wilson 

A. N. Wilson’s powerful new novel explores the life and times of one of the greatest British explorers, Captain Cook, and the golden age of Britain’s period of expansion and exploration. Wilson’s protagonist, witness to Cook’s brilliance and wisdom, is George Forster, who travelled with Cook as botanist on board the HMS Resolution, on Cook’s second expedition to the southern hemisphere, and penned a famous account of the journey. Resolution moves back and forth across time, to depict Forster’s time with Cook, and his extraordinary later life, which ended with his death in Paris, during the French Revolution. Wilson once again demonstrates his great powers as a master craftsman of the historical and the human in this richly evoked novel, which brings to life the real and the extraordinary.

 

Essex Serpent – Sarah Perry

London 1893. When Cora Seaborne’s husband dies, she steps into her new life as a widow with as much relief as sadness: her marriage was not a happy one, and she never suited the role of society wife. Accompanied by her son Francis – a curious, obsessive boy – she leaves town for Essex, where she hopes fresh air and open space will provide the refuge they need.

 

 

 

SO! They are all the lovely books I’ve purchased this month and I cannot wait to get reading them! Ill have a wrap-up coming soon with more in-depth thoughts on each of the books I’ve read this month.

I hope you are all keeping well and Enjoying your reading!

Happy Reading,

Lish x

Come say Hi on social media if you want! 

Twitter – @Lishwells19

Tumblr- @Alishas-words-of-wonder 

Instagram – @Alishas_words 

Bloglovin – https://www.bloglovin.com/@alishalaurenwells

11 thoughts on “January Book Haul! 📚 

    1. Thank you! It’s been a book I’ve intended to read for a long time!
      I’m looking forward to it as well it seems like such an important and current subject to read about!
      Lish x

      Like

  1. Ah I’ve just finished the Young Elites trilogy! I really hope you enjoy them as much as I did 😀 The ending, I think, was done perfectly! Can’t wait to see what you think of it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow! Puts Another Day in the Death of America on my list to read. I don’t read nearly as much as I should. I only read 2 books in 2016 *hangs head in shame* I study communication disorders on the track for Speech Pathology and in my senior year, I don’t have the time or the willpower to read these days. But I want to change that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

